Steel Panther, Bowling for Soup and Buckcherry 15th October 2016

Sometimes the bigger shows are the ones that flatline in entertainment.

First off, my main reason for going to this is that I have always been a huge Bowling for Soup fan and having missed their tour, did not want to miss this. My other half is also a Steel Panther fan so managed to get some tickets from a relative as a birthday present.

To start with Buckcherry; who is with me in saying that people only really know their song Crazy Bitch? The rest of the set was okay, but the sound seemed off and you couldn’t really enjoy what they were playing. Maybe it was better at the front, but as previously mentioned, I like my space at the back away from sweaty topless men. ‘Crazy Bitch’ was great, but I can’t really comment on the rest of the performance.

Bowling for Soup…well…hasn’t the Jaret put on weight?! Haha, they made joke about the obvious change but was still a little bit of a shock to see the huge change.

They played all the classics! Absolutely insane, even included a sing along of ‘1985’ at the end of the set. They do like a chat for sure, but it was lots of laughs and listening to music that made me feel like a teen again!

The one downside was that all the songs seemed sped up. Not sure why, but they were all definitely played faster than the normal tempo. It also seemed like the crowd at the front weren’t giving them much to feed off of, which is a shame because us at the back were loving it! Perhaps thats the older fans avoiding the touching once again?

Coming to Steel Panther. Although I have never been huge fan, this is the third time seeing them live and I have always been in awe of their lyrical genius and pure entertainment factor. This show however was definitely my least favourite.

Heres why;

  • They spoke..A LOT. I’m all good with their banter between fans and each other, but this dragged on a fair amount to the point where we just wanted them to play some damn music.
  • The crowd, their fans, were a bit..blah. During ’17 girls in a row’ they get girls on stage who usually get semi-naked and try their luck with the band. This time the girls did not have the usual enthusiasm. Not that I care if I don’t see girls getting naked, it just fell a bit short.
  • Last year there were midget versions of the band who came out and start playing a song. Though I don’t expect this at every show, this definitely added to the entertainment factor and in comparison showed how much was lacking this year.

I surprised my other half last year with tickets for Steel Panther, supported by Skindred, last year as he wanted to see them so bad and tickets had sold out. I ended up paying £150 for two tickets (original price around £25 each). If that was for this show, I would have been furious.

On a side note, Lexi looked fabulous as ever and when they did actually play they put on a great performance.

No photos as my phone decided not to let me take them!

Leave a Reply

